# Australian Education Union – Victorian Branch ELECTION NOTICE - E2019/185

# **Scheduled Election**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

# Nominations are called for Delegates to Branch Conference:

### **Early Childhood Sector** – Group of Regions (number of delegates)

South East (22) Greater Waverley, Inner East, Doncaster/Warringal, Outer Eastern,

Knox/Dandenong Ranges, Yarra Valley, South Eastern,

Berwick/Pakenham/Cranbourne, Longbeach/Moorabbin/Parahan, Frankston,

Peninsula

North West (18) Inner City, Latrobe/Plenty, Diamond Valley, Werribee, Inner West, Maribyrnong,

Broadmeadows, Sunbury, Melton

Goulburn (2) Benalla, Seymour, Shepparton, Wodonga, Wangaratta

Barwon (4) Geelong, Colac, Hamilton/Portland, Warrnambool

Gippsland (2) South Gippsland, West Gippsland, La Trobe Valley, East Gippsland, Sale

Loddon (3) Bendigo, Castlemaine/Kyneton, Maryborough, Bendigo/Echuca, Swan Hill, Mildura

Bendigo (9)

Central Highlands Wimmera (2) Ballarat, Stawell, Horsham

# Primary Sector and Primary Allied Staff Sub-Sector - Region (number of delegates)

Geelong (19) Colac (2) Hamilton/Portland (3)

Warrnambool (5) Ballarat (11) Stawell (2)
Horsham (3) Benalla (2) Seymour (4)
Shepparton (5) Wodonga (4) Wangaratta (4)
South Gippsland (5) West Gippsland (4) La Trobe Valley (8)

East Gippsland (4) Sale (4)

Castlemaine/Kyneton (4) Maryborough (1) Bendigo/Echuca/Kyabram (5)

Swan Hill (2) Mildura (4) Inner City (16) Latrobe/Plenty (20) Diamond Valley (8) Werribee (20) Inner West (20) Maribyrnong (18) Broadmeadows (18) Sunbury (5) Melton (11) Greater Waverley (15) Inner East (9) Doncaster/Warringal (16) Outer Eastern (15) Knox/Dandenong Ranges (14) Yarra Valley (2) South Eastern (12) Berwick/Pakenham/Cranbourne (29) Longbeach/Moorabbin/Prahran (32) Frankston (12)

Peninsula (11) Primary Allied Staff Sub-Sector (103)

# Secondary Sector and Secondary Allied Staff Sub-Sector - Region (number of delegates)

Geelong (12) Colac (1) Hamilton/Portland (2)

Warrnambool (4)Ballarat (7)Stawell (1)Horsham (3)Benalla (2)Seymour (3)Shepparton (5)Wodonga (3)Wangaratta (3)South Gippsland (4)West Gippsland (3)La Trobe Valley (3)

East Gippsland (3) Sale (2) Bendigo (8)

Castlemaine/Kyneton (2) Maryborough (1) Bendigo/Echuca/Kyabram (3)

Swan Hill (1) Mildura (5) Inner City (17)
Latrobe/Plenty (12) Diamond Valley (6) Werribee (11)
Inner West (14) Maribyrnong (15) Broadmeadows (9)
Sunbury (3) Melton (7) Greater Waverley (12)
Inner East (7) Doncaster/Warringal (11) Outer Eastern (9)
Knox/Dandenong Ranges (8) Yarra Valley (1) South Eastern (9)

Knox/Dandenong Ranges (8)

Yarra Valley (1)

South Eastern (9)

Berwick/Pakenham/Cranbourne (17)

Longbeach/Moorabbin/Prahran (18)

Frankston (7)

Peninsula (6) Secondary Allied Staff Sub-Sector (50)

Please turn over for TAFE and Adult Provision Sector delegate positions

## TAFE and Adult Provision Sector – Institute (number of delegates)

Bendigo Kangan TAFE (5) Federation University Australia (2) Box Hill Institute of TAFE (3) Chisholm Institute of TAFE (5) TAFE Gippsland (2) The Gordon (3) Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE (2) Holmesglen Institute of TAFE (3) Melbourne Polytechnic (6) RMIT (2) South West Institute of TAFE (1) Sunraysia Institute of TAFE (1) Swinburne University of Technology - TAFE Division (1) Victoria University of Technology (3) William Angliss Institute of TAFE (1) Wodonga Institute of TAFE (1) Disability Services Sub-Sector (11)

**Nominations**, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 12/02/2020. A candidate must be nominated by AT LEAST ONE eligible financial member of the SECTOR or SUB-SECTOR and the relevant REGION or GROUP OF REGIONS.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Additional nomination forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 12 noon Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) **on** 13/03/2020.

**How to lodge nominations**, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):

By Post: Ann Dougan, Returning Officer, AEC, GPO BOX 4382 MELBOURNE VIC 3001

By Hand: Returning Officer, AEC, Level 8 Casselden 2 Lonsdale Street Melbourne VIC 3000

by appointment with the Returning Officer

By Fax: 02 6293 7603

AMES Sub-Sector (1)

**By Email:** A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to vicelections@aec.gov.au

#### PLEASE NOTE:

- 1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
- 2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
- 3. You may call 03 9285 7161 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

# **Withdrawing Nominations**

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12 noon Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 13/03/2020.

#### **Candidate Statements**

Candidates may submit a statement to be distributed with the ballot material, statements shall be restricted to a maximum of 200 words and may include a passport size photograph. The material may include an indication of preference provided all candidates are shown in the order they appear on the ballot paper and there is a preference allocated to each candidate. Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 12 noon AEDT on 20/03/2020 can be accepted. Statements should be provided in MS Word format and may be emailed to vicelections@aec.gov.au

**Election of women to Branch Conference:** The rules of the branch provide that the minimum number of women to be elected shall be 50 per cent of the number of persons to be elected from each region. If the number of persons to be elected is an odd number, the minimum number of women to be elected shall be determined by reducing the total number of persons to be elected by one and taking 50 per cent of that number. If the number of women candidates is less than the number of women to be elected, the remaining position or positions in question will be filled by a male candidate or candidates.

# **Voting Period**

The ballot, if required, will open on 06/04/2020 and close at 10am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 04/05/2020.

#### **Scrutineers**

The appointment of scrutineers closes 10am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 04/05/2020.

A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

# Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Ann Dougan Returning Officer Telephone: 03 92

Telephone: 03 9285 7161 Email: <u>vicelections@aec.gov.au</u>

